Self Check Out Ideas

Standard

Self check out is an interesting thing because it is being adopted everywhere and not just in libraries. However, as the article pointed out, it has to suit the communities needs and not just be something that is being implemented for ease of the staff or the libraries budget. If it is not well suited for your community I do not feel that it will be well received. In my own community and the library I work for I know that half the time our one self check does not work. I have been working there for over six months and I think that four of that it has not worked. Our community does like the idea of the self checkout, but it is hardly there for them. In addition, I think another good point the article made that the staff needs to be trained on them. This is huge because I know that I have no idea how to use the machine, but patrons come to me all the time for help. I think that it is only useful if every one of the staff knows how to use so that it benefits everyone. Overall, the article makes the point that the this opportunity of the self check is not to take away from the librarians but to increase the chance to participate and interact with patrons. It offers a chance to get out from behind the desk and offer services and be right there for the patrons. I really think that this is great because we need more of that in the librarias today.

Leave a Reply

