Labeling Children’s Books

Standard

Labeling children’s book is not what I consider censorship. Censorship is when something is taken away due to content or when a book is flagged due to content. I liked this article because it made a good point about how labeling for reading levels and subjects is not to ‘pigeon hole’ children into making certain decision based on the labels. No, this labeling is done for the ease of the collection and the patron. It makes it easier to organize the collection to put similar materials together and to make it easier to browse. This kind of label is useful in both public and school libraries. I cannot tell you how often I will have children or their parents come to me and tell me how their child reads, what they like to read, and how well they read. Then they expect me to take that information and provide a book. If there was no labeling, I think I would be lost. Though with the labeling I can walk into the right area, pull out a good book. Then I can I say in this area there are similar books to this one that I think that you or your child may like. That is what makes labeling useful. It is not there to censor the child, it is not taking away options, and it is not a restriction. There is nothing there that is telling the child that they cannot walk around a corner and grab a book from there. However, they do not want to because they know they can find what they need right in front of them. I do not think that we as children librarians would be very effective if we could not label books. There is just way too much materials and books out there for children to not label them to make any sense out them.

Leave a Reply

